Competitions‎ > ‎Old competitions‎ > ‎

Swiss Teams Club Challenge

The Swiss Teams Club Challenge has been discontinued. There has been a lack of interest in this competition in recent years. The new league format provides opportunity for players of all standards to play teams of four matches.

Roll of winners

Year Team of 8 Team of 4
2001/2002 Saffron Walden (Chris Larlham, John Constable, Ross Midgley, Kit Orde-Powlett, Bill Briscombe, Peter Oxley, Matt May, Niel Pimblett) Chris Larlham, John Constable, Ross Midgley, Kit Orde-Powlett
2000/2001 Cambridge (Philip Wraight, Sally Wraight, Victor Milman, Nadia Stelmashenko, Tapan Pal, Eryl Howard, Peter Jackson, Carol Parker) Peter Morgan, Frank Padgett, Derek Oxbrow, Kath Haddock
1997/1998 Cambridge Chris Jagger, John Young, Victor Milman, Nadia Stelmashenko
1996/1997 Cambridge University Suzanne Cohen, Paula Leslie, Julian Foster, Mike Hornung
1994/1995 Cambridge University Cambridge University B (Graham Hazel)
1993/1994 Cambridge University Cambridge University C (Tom Townsend)
1992/1993 Cambridge University Cambridge University A

Closed Swiss Teams

The Cambs & Hunts Closed Swiss Teams was replaced by the Swiss Teams Club Challenge. Winners were:

Year Winners
1991/1992 (Multiple Teams in lieu of Closed Swiss) Tony Oram, A Hunter, Bernard Northfield, Mary Northfield
1990/1991 (28th April 1991) Chris Larlham, David Nicholson, Fiske Warren, Phil Gough
1990/1991 (24th February 1991) John Turner, Ann Curtin, Gladys Gittins, Elmar Zivtins
1989/1990 Ray Porter, Janet Porter, Bernard Northfield, Mary Northfield